i want more than just okay
New
Old
Profile
Book
Notes Host
PS






good person am I, yes

Will you look at that? It's the view from my wind shield. Snazzy. (Expect a lot of random picutures in the next few entries, I've been kind of camera happy lately.)

In other news . . there really isn't other news. I've not done much today. All that work I was so aprehensive about turned out to be not so big a deal; it never is. I just get so worked up over things sometimes.

Guess what a good person I was today? I've signed up to send letters and stuff to a soldier overseas in Afghanistan. He's with a team that's detecting mines in mine fields, or something to that affect. I wrote him a letter today and bought some oreos, Hershey bars, and a magazine, so he can know what's going on here (I hope he's not allergic to chocolate). I really had no idea what to get or write. Here's what my letter said:

"Dear George,
Hey George. I�m Laura, you�re friendly nieghborhood supporter over here in the states. I guess I�ll start out by saying that I really appreciate all that you guys are doing. Unless my memory decieves me, I�m told you are in Afhanistan, detecting mines in mine fields, or whatever the technical term is for it; making the country a safer place. I don�'t know all the details, but it sounds like a pretty big job, and I�m thankful that we have brave people like you to make the world a safer place. The world is scarey enough as it is without having to worry about exploding with every step you take. Heh. So yeah, you�re awesome and I will keep you in my prayers.
Since I don�t really know you, I obviously have no idea what to tell you, which makes composing this letter rather interesting. I guess I�ll tell you a little about myself. My name is C_____k, Laura C______k. I�m sixteen years old (seventeen in four months. yeehaa.) and a sophmore in high school. I have a nice home here in Texas with a wonderful family, including a dog and a cat, who get along very well opposed to what cartoons made me think. I used to have a pet rat also, name Cleo, but she passed away, mainly because of neglect from her owner. Oops. I hate high school, with a passion, and enjoy most being with my fantastic friends at my church (I know. I�m a teenager who loves church. What a freak, right?) who I love so much and would be so incredibly lonely without. I�m looking forward to graduating high school in two years, and then maybe going to college, right now I�m thinking Baylor University, but we�ll see. And now that I�ve bored you to death . . .
What about you? What�s it like in Afghanistan? I�ve never really been overseas. The furthest from Texas I�ve been is Canada. Woohoo Canada. My family rented an RV and drove all the way up to some small, good-for-nothing town near Alaska named C______k. Eight thousand miles. Pretty exciting, ay? No, not so much.
Well, I really have nothing else of interest to write. I could ramble on for pages, but I don�t really want to bore you too much. I hope you enjoy the stuff I brought you and feel free to write back if you like. Ciao."

Thrilling, ay? I'm such a nerd. I hope he writes back though.

7:22 p.m. April 15, 2003
yesterday . not so yesterday