i want more than just okay
New
Old
Profile
Book
Notes Host
PS






crazy texas weather

So I come back from driving around, pull my car into the garage, turn around, and it's hailing. Out of nowhere, junks of ice start falling from the sky, with no warning. Geez.

. . . .

Some people really need to not take some things so seriously. Like a certain mock trial we had today in English. We just got finished reading Lord of the Flies and we were having a trial to determine if Jack was responsible for the deaths of Piggy and Simon due to his influence on the boys. Kinda stupid and corny, but also kinda fun. I was Jack, the defendant. So I get on the stand, the defense is questioning me, and it's all good untill the prosecuter, this over-achiever chick, Erica, starts her cross examination. She starts grilling me on all these things and is all serious and mean. She's like, "So, on page 67, it says you threw your spear at Ralph with the intention of hurting him, why did you do that?" And what I wanted to say was, "I don't know. I'm not Jack. Leave me alone!" But no. I just sat there dumbly and said, "I was trying to scare him," and crap like that. Erica got a little vicious after a while. She called me a liar for one. I think that turned out good for the defense though, because at that point everyone gasped and were all, "Poor Laura!", and were totally supporting me. (I sound like such the teenage girl. heh.) It was scarey though. I got really into it while I was up there. I could hear my heart pounding and I was all shaking when I sat down. But I was determined to show her that she wasn't affecting me. I always looked her square in the eye, even when my answer was only, "I don't know." Everyone said I looked really composed. And it all turned out for the good because the jury ended up declaring me not guilty. It doesn't really matter or anything, but I enjoyed beating her.

4:56 p.m. April 21, 2003
yesterday . not so yesterday