i want more than just okay
New
Old
Profile
Book
Notes Host
PS






good evening

So tonight has been fun, which is more than I expected. It started with babysitting at this parents' night thing at church to raise money for our youth ministry. I wasn't really looking forward to it because . . . kids. I like them and all, but I could think of more exciting things to do on a Friday night than watching them. But it wasn't so bad. I was in the room for 3, 4, and 5 year olds along with Will, Moore, Aron and Nate. There ended up being five people working in my room with only three kids to watch, which is alright with me. I'm not complaining. It was pretty uneventful. The kids were cute. I colored. Little Jacob got purple fun dough (not play-do, fun dough. definitely not as fun. it sticks to everything.) over everything. I got a lot of cute pictures, some of which I will show you later on in this entry because . . that's just the way its gonna be. I also got a short video, but my computer is being stubborn and won't let me import it right now. How rude. Anywho, one unfortunate event that occured tonight is that poor Moore got his heart broken. He stepped outside of the room for about 15 minutes and came back crying. I had a pretty good idea of why. His girlfriend Bailey, also my good friend, told me she was planning on breaking up with him. It was a pretty random to do tonight whilst babysitting, but I assume she just wanted to get it over with.

I always feel awkward when I'm near people who are crying and/or distraught. I don't know if I should just give them space or go over and ask them what's wrong and if they want a hug and what I should say and all that stuff, so I usually just end up pretending they're not there. It's probably not the best thing to do, but it sure is the easiest. So I did that for a little while, untill Aron came up to me, his back to Moore, pantomiming a hug and mouthing "hug him". So I reluctantly got up and went over to Moore, feeling awkward, I asked him if he wanted a hug. He smiled feebly and nodded, so I hugged him, obviously, and he said, "Bailey broke up with me." And I said something like, "I'm sorry, that sucks." And he nodded and then I made a joke or something, because that's just what I tend to do in uncomfortable situations and he chuckled and was basically okay for the rest of the evening. I felt good because I felt like I did some good and that I helped, unlike my normal routine of run and hide whenever someone displays some sort of emotion that I'm uncomfortable with.

Anyway, after all the little kiddies had left we all decided to go to my house and hang out. Interestingly enough, I turned out to be the only one of us with access to a car so I had to make two trips to get everyone from the church to my house. I didn't mind, it just took like 30 minutes. Thirty minutes of my life I'll never get back. I don't really care, I don't know why I wrote that sentence. So then we're all at my house and I make a pizza and we eat and be merry and talk and eat starbursts. It was fun because Allison and I were the only girls and there were like six guys and that equals attention on us and that's always fun. We hung out untill about twelve and then I took Allison home and Will took everyone else home in my mom's Lexus (because the guys all live five minutes from each other and Allison lives 20 minutes from all of them). And that was that. Nothing big and exciting happened, but I really enjoyed myself.

I actually enjoyed writing that all out. I usually don't like doing a play-by-play of my day (I made a rhyme.) because I get bored and it gets monotonous, but that was acutally fun. Cool.

So here are some pictures from babysitting; what you've all be waiting for:

A cute picture of Aron and the kids. The funny looking one is Jacob. He looks so funny in the picture. Ha ha.

Will holding Emily and Moore in the background

Jacob and Emily on Moore's back Jacob just isn't a photgenic kid I suppose.

Moore and Jacob. Yes, Moore is wearing a dress.

1:17 a.m. October 18, 2003
yesterday . not so yesterday